Friends Annual Bookmark Design Contest

Post-it note? Your napping kitty’s tail? Folded corner (gasp!)? None of those are nearly as cool as having a bookmark with your very own artwork on it.

Submissions are now open for the Friends Annual Bookmark Design Contest honoring National Friends of Libraries Week! From preschoolers to adults, there are seven different age categories – each with two winners!

Important Dates

July 29 • Submissions must be received by 5:00 pm
August 12 – 23 • Jurying by Friends of Johnson County Library, winners notified.
October 10 • Winners Presentation Ceremony

Printed entry forms can be picked up at any Johnson County Library branch or downloaded here. The finished bookmark size is 2-3/4 x 8-1/2 inches. Submissions will be accepted online via the button below, in person at branch Libraries, or through the US Mail at:

Bookmark Design Contest
Johnson County Library, Creative Services Department
PO Box 2933, Shawnee Mission, KS 66201-1333

Group photo of the 2023 Bookmark Contest winners and Friends board members

Pictured are the 2023 Winners L-R: (Back Row) Shanta Dickerson, Tricia Suellentrop, Jennifer Curtiss, Bethany Griffith, Janeé Hanzlick, Karen O’Mara (Middle Row) Logan Scarborough, Roz O’Mara, Matt Huckins, Kennedy Kirkland (Front Row) Lucy Dunbar, Rose O’Hara, Ben Thompson, Makenzie Crafton, Marcos Sandoval (Winners Not Pictured) Liz Vargas, Cloe Morales, Brooklyn Morrissey, Autumn Lamar, Louisa Good

This event is sponsored by the Johnson County Library and the Friends of Johnson County Library.

stacked books
  • Categories (two winners in each category)
    • Preschool-Kdg.
    • Grades 1-2
    • Grades 3-4
    • Grades 5-6
    • Grades 7-8
    • Grades 9-12
    • Adult
  • Limit one entry per submitter.
  • Bookmark design must be original work. Nothing previously published accepted. Popular figures (ex. Superman, Disney, etc.) cannot be considered due to copyright restrictions.
  • Books, libraries and/or reading should be included in the design.
  • Bookmarks may be created in color or black-and-white. Acceptable media:
    • Flat 2-dimensional graphics and collage on paper or paper board.
    • Colored pencil, marker, crayon, gouache, tempera, oil, acrylic, fingerpaint, chalk, watercolor, pen-and-ink.
    • No photography or digital imagery.
    • Glitter and reflectives do not reproduce well and are discouraged.
  • Entries are valid only when accompanied by this completed and signed Registration Form.
    • ALL OF YOUR INFORMATION MUST BE CLEAR AND LEGIBLE. INCLUDE A FAMILY OR PERSONAL EMAIL THAT YOU WILL RESPOND TO WHEN WE CONTACT YOU.We’ll disqualify submissions whose name or address we cannot read, or if you don’t respond to an email.Printed entry forms are available at Johnson County Library questions desks or to download online here.
  • Completed entry forms may be returned at any Johnson County Library location, by mail, or via online form. Completed entry forms may be returned starting June 1, 2024.
  • Bookmarks will be accepted June 1 – July 29, 2024. No entries accepted after 5 p.m., July 29. Entries will not be returned after judging.
  • Parent or guardian of submitters under 16 years old must sign the completed form.
  • Jurors include Friends of Johnson County Library staff and board, and Johnson County Library staff. Submissions will be judged on originality, theme and creativity. Jurors’ decisions are final.
  • Winning entries will be printed and available at Johnson County Library branches.

2023 Friends of Johnson County Library Bookmark Design Contest Winners

Kindergarten and Pre-K
Lucy Dunbar – Homeschool
Marcos Sandoval – Comanche Elementary

Grades 1 + 2
Rose O’Hara – John Paul II
Makenzie Crafton – Rosehill Elementary

Grades 3 + 4
Ben Thompson – Pawnee Elementary
Logan Scarborough – Corinth Elementary

Grades 5 + 6
Autumn Lamar – Mission Trail
Louisa Good – Homeschool

Grades 7 + 8
Kennedy Kirkland – Homeschool
Roz O’Mara – Harmony Middle School

Grades 9 + 12
Cloe Morales – Shawnee Mission South
Brooklyn Morrissey – Shawnee Mission West

Grown Ups
Matt Huckins – Merriam, KS
Liz Vargas – Overland Park, KS

Scroll to Top